You are here

About Me

In the Real World

My name is Shannon Wanty, and I live in Christchurch, New Zealand, with my cats, Mister Bingley and Seneca, and my dog Poppy. 

I have many passions and interests - more than I have time for - but the good news is that I don't get bored! I love being creative, and I find that every creative thing I do fuels further creativity, which I think is an excellent outcome.


Reading and writing are very important to me, and I love that I now get to utilise these skills in my job as well as for personal interest. Mum said that the first day I went to school, I was very excited because I thought I was going to learn how to read. Of course, I made a start - but was very disappointed to find that you don't automatically come home from school on your first day knowing how to read! Since I first learned, I have always been an avid reader.

I love to cook and especially enjoy baking as I have always been a sweet tooth. Fortunately I have a good group of friends, relatives and colleagues willing to help me eat treat foods when I make them, since most of the time these days I try to stick to a healthy, balanced diet.

I'm constantly creating things - both modern and Renaissance - as part of my many, many hobbies and side interests. At the moment I'm going through a big phase of ice figure skating, modern dressmaking, making Christmas ornaments, and converting my garden from grass to a beautiful flower garden and productive fruit, vegetable and herb garden.

My all-time favourite colour is pink, and I have a very positive relationship with my Inner Child.

In the SCA

I am known as Magnifica Vettoria di Giovanni da Verona, and I live in the Barony of Southron Gaard, and am connected with the Barony of Ildhafn, both of which are in the Kingdom of Lochac. I have previously been known as Caterine de Vantier. I have many interests, and this website is primarily my place to write up what it is I'm working on or looking into at the moment. My biggest interests are 16th century Italian cooking and dining habits, with a subsequent bit of an interest in plants and gardening; 16th century women's clothing (French, Flemish, English, Italian); and the Baby House - which is really just a great big very small opportunity for me to learn as much about the 16th century household, way of life, and material culture as I can.